My Top 10 Summer Fashion Goals

{By Ellery Sadler}

Summer is by far my favorite season. There is nothing better than warm weather and shorts and sandals and beach.

But as far as summer fashion goes, I think it can be easy to get in a rut. While it is nice to be able to just throw on a pair of shorts and T-shirt, I have decided (as of five minutes ago) that I don’t want this to be a boring summer for my closet.

So here are my goals for dressing this summer.

1. Try New Hairstyles

best summer hair dos

A ponytail is pretty much my go-to hairstyle. And while that is all well and good, it would be nice to mix it up sometimes. So I’m going to try some new looks and hopefully they will turn out as casually amazing as these.

2. Use What I already Have In New Ways

summer fashion ideas

I just got a puppy. Which means I’m wildly in love but also low on shopping money. (But hey, no dress is as cute as my little black and white munchkin.) So I’d like to find ways to wear what I already have and mix up the pattern combinations. Maybe a thin-striped shirt with a wide-striped skirt.

3. Wear a Backless Sundress

backless summer sundress

I’m in love with this style of girly, flowly, beautiful backless sundresses. Now I just need to find one and wear it. Possibly everywhere.

4. Buy A Pair of Lilly Pulitzer Shorts

best summer fashion trends

Seriously, is there anything more adorable than these scalloped shorts? I can already think of a million places I would wear them.

5. Rock Bold Sunglasses

best summer sunglasses

Sunglasses can add so much glamour to an outfit. They make you instantly feel a little bit more like a movie star. So, one of my goals this summer is to wear some crazy, bold, amazing sunglasses.

6. Wear Heels More Often

summer fashion goals

I know summer is all about being casual, but I have a couple pairs of wedges that are dying to be worn. My Sperry flip-flops get used daily and are worn in to perfection, but I think it would be fun to break out the heels a little bit more this year.

7. Go Without Jewelry

Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 3.46.42 PM

I love jewelry. I love long dangly earrings and big bracelets and tiny necklaces and everything in between. Jewelry is amazing. But I’ve also noticed recently how captivating it can be to see a girl with no jewelry and no makeup. Just them. Being beautiful. So I’m going to put away the jewelry occasionally.

8. Wear Lots of Jamberry

jamberry nails summer fashion

If you haven’t tried these, you really need to. They are adorable and look like a fabulous manicure for a whole lot cheaper. You can mix and match color combinations and patterns.  I am definitely planning on wearing a lot of these this summer!

9. Wear More Hats

summer hats

Summer is the perfect time to wear a hat. It protects your skin – which is really important – and it also looks fabulous. My goal is to break out more than just the baseball cap and actually wear sun hats this summer.

10. Leave My Hair Down

summer fashion goals

While trying new hair styles is one of my goals, my last goal is to actually leave my hair down and undone. My natural inclination is to always have it up to keep it out of my face and out of the way. But having your hair down is really pretty. It looks beachy and natural and beautiful.

And real life never looks like that. Wish it did, but my hair is very straight. So it’s going to be just straight. But real is beautiful. Don’t ever forget that.

 

What are your summer fashion goals? Check out our Pinterest boards to see more! 

 

